A few weeks ago I received a note from someone on Facebook.  He apparently remembered me from high school but I did not remember him.  (We were in the same Speech Class).

The follow-up note he sent me moved me to tears.  I share this with you because it just goes to show you how you can change a life for the better and not even know it.  Certainly, I had no idea how the impact of my words back then would play out more than 30 years later.  But I am so thankful that I said something to inspire.

Here’s his note to me:

This is a selfish message more for me than for you…Of course you wouldn’t remember me. First my name was (name deleted) back then (i used my step dad’s name at that time), I weighed about 98 lbs then, my fro was unkempt, my attire was second hand, dirty and ill fitting, there were 10 of us in our household with 1 bath tub (that I hardly ever used), and I got a “C” in that (speech) class, all my other grades that year were “F’s” I was very proud of my “C”.  That was my best effort. 

After one speech that I muttered and stumbled through, you said “good job Mike”…You, The great McKinley speaking sensation, told me…little dirty me good job.  I don’t even think I said thank you or looked you in the eye, but I felt like a winner that day. 

I dropped out of school that next year and joined the U.S. Marines, where I stayed for the next 12 years.  I started a sales career, and discovered I could excel there. I soon started teaching and training sales people, and for the past 12 years I have prospered running my own consulting company with several junior consultants that I employ. I have traveled the world (48 countries) teaching the art of selling to groups that number from 25 to 2500. 

There have been many Bev’s in my life since that “good job Mike” more than 30 years ago, people that have taken the time to give a word of encouragment to the less able, and now I like to think I am a Bev myself . So this heart felt message is not just for you. It’s for all of those Bev’s that I never said thank you to. I enjoy a life I never dreamed of as a child.

Thank you Bev’s of the world . I send you love, joy, and light … Namaste

Now you see why I am still crying……..

